I Am Touched By Your Concern

It started with a trickle, and now a torrent of my well-meaning readers sending me amazing topic ideas, and information that I had not seen.

And I thank you all. But the reason that I am not writing is not because I’ve run out of ideas.

The reason that I am not writing is because I am sick.

I am sick to my soul with dark distillation of the ugliest abyss of the human soul: I am suffering from the political version of “Toxic Shock Syndrome,” as the unrelenting hate, snark, vile and infantile crap that continues 24/7/365 is just beyond my comprehension or capacity to respond.

And no false equivalences, hypocrites who claim to love God and Jesus so much: I am talking about the GOP/Right Wing/Tea Party dyslexics. You know who you are.*

(*If you have any questions, check the back band of your underwear: y0ur mother undoubtedly has written it in Sharpie® there.)

You know, in Herman Melville’s neglected Billy Budd, vile Claggart finally goes too far, and Billy kills the Iago-style bastard with a single punch. And today I can assure you, I know EXACTLY what Billy was going through. Finally, it just becomes too much. How human turds like Rush Limbaugh, Sean Hannity, Michelle Malkin, Ann Coulter, Doug Hoffman, Confederate Wanker, and the rest can get up EACH AND EVERY DAY and launch the most vituperative vitriol, the most toxic trash-talk, the Rottenist Rhetoric, the Antithesis of Argument, mere Atavistic Alliterative Alienation … it is beyond my comprehension. EVERY DAY OF THE YEAR; year in and year out.

How you can live in that cesspit of toxic hate and not eventually sicken and die of liver failure from the constant poisoning of your system by its own sludge of secretions is a medical miracle that mere science cannot explain: it must be the work of Satanic Contractual Dynamics.

There is, finally — Occam’s Razor and all — only the supernatural explanation. But they follow the Rovian Dictum: steal the initiative, win EVERY news cycle.

Push forward a single, toxic talking point, and the Left, believing themselves to be badass freelancers, beserkers arrayed against the Legions of Imperial Rome, either fails to counterattack, or else fail to ALLY themselves, and end up in typical, ineffectual, flaccid, backbiting mode.

Those who believe in the common shared destiny of humanity can’t share a common cause for one complete rotation of the Earth upon its axis, and those who would piss on the poor, kick the enfeebled, sneer at the less fortunate, and crap on anyone not pulling in an Adjusted Gross Income above the six figure threshold engage in a disciplined, focused campaign of slander, libel, specious and fallacious drivel that drives all sane or rational argument from the field.

George Bernard Shaw already wrote what I think of them, and I reproduce it (PD) here:

Pooh! why should I be civil to them or to you? In this Palace of Lies a truth or two will not hurt you. Your friends are all the dullest dogs I know. They are not beautiful: they are only decorated. They are not clean: they are only shaved and starched. They are not dignified: they are only fashionably dressed. They are not educated: they are only college passmen. They are not religious: they are only pewrenters. They are not moral: they are only conventional. They are not virtuous: they are only cowardly. They are not even vicious: they are only “frail.” They are not artistic: they are only lascivious. They are not prosperous: they are only rich. They are not loyal, they are only servile; not dutiful, only sheepish; not public spirited, only patriotic; not courageous, only quarrelsome; not determined, only obstinate; not masterful, only domineering; not self-controlled, only obtuse; not self-respecting, only vain; not kind, only sentimental; not social, only gregarious; not considerate, only polite; not intelligent, only opinionated; not [conservative], only factious; not imaginative, only superstitious; not just, only vindictive; not generous, only propitiatory; not disciplined, only cowed; and not truthful at all: liars every one of them, to the very backbone of their souls.

Let me add I am most gratified that people all over the world continue to read my writings, with  my most popular posts (in no particular order) according to THEIR choice:

And, of course,

(That’s leaving Christina’s Outing out of it altogether, since it is evergreen, and attracts an entirely different audience than my regular and occasional readership.)

Read from Brasilia, Brazil to Sydney, Perth and Alice Springs, Australia, from Pretoria, South Africa to Bangkok, Thailand, Hong Kong, China, Delhi, India, Teheran, Iran, Attika (Athens), Greece, to Hudson’s Bay, Canada, and Newfoundland, Montreal and Vancouver, both Canada AND Washington state; or,  just today Santiago, Chile, and Swansea, Wales, Dublin, Ireland, Ile de France, Eureka, California to Juneau, Alaska; Plymouth Massachusetts to Arlington, Virginia; from the Secretary of State’s office in Illinois to the United States House of Representatives; from Paris, Texas to Lake Elsinore, California, Tel Aviv, Israel, Tokyo, Japan and Blagoevgrad, Bulgaria.

the last hundred visitors

But I am speechless in the face of such unrelenting hate, demonic spin and dirty tricks. Our Masters, the Insurance Companies don’t WANT health reform, and now every long knife is being sharpened, every pen filled with p0ison, every newsroom catamite having their face rubbed in the scent of the enemy, unleashed and told “KILL!”

If it had to be said, I think I have already said it.

And I am numb.

But touched.

Courage.

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “I Am Touched By Your Concern

  1. bluepilgrim

    I don’t know what to say, Hart…..

    …. either….

    except to note that the place is being run by psychopaths:
    See http://aradicalblackfoot.blogspot.com/2007/02/capitalism-system-run-by-and-for.html

  2. DrSardinicus

    Well played, sir. And correct on every level.

  3. How can politicians blah blah blah yada yada yada? They’re sick mofos. It’s official. FBI’s behavioral analyst Jim Kouri profiled them and came to the conclusion they share personality traits with serial killers. Don’t get worked up about it, and don’t be surprised about pigs rolling in the mud; that’s what pigs do. You might as well get mad about dogs barking (fair enough, a dog barking at three in the morning …).

    I agree with Billy Connolly: anyone who shows any desire to be a politician should be immediately barred from being one.

    Can’t find the exact link but there was a piece online in the Los Angeles Times on 15 June 2009 detailing the report by Kouri.

    • jpfife:

      I’m sorry, but this is a false and idiotic equivalence: all politicians are scum, evil, etc.

      Your point, sir, is juvenile and self-serving. The second you open your mouth, you become a politician. The moment you interact with another human being, you’re engaging in politics. To set yourself apart and adopt a smug, self-congratulatory air of superiority is merely to isolate yourself from all of humanity.

      Tell you what you do: find a desert island, take a volleyball, draw a face on it, call it “Wilson” and live out the remainder of your days away from the rest of us, you smug, superior bastard, you. You’re certainly far too good for the likes of me.

      But you CAN join the Tea Party movement, which seems to be composed of equally clueless, self-anointed “superior” types.

      Oh, wait.

      That would be engaging in politics, which would make you a serial killer, right?

  4. majii

    Hart,
    I know exactly how you feel. I feel the same way. Some days it’s difficult to get out of bed knowing that the current day is like all of the days you have already lived through and days in the future will not be any different. George Bernard Shaw was right in everything he said, and I blame the MSM for being willing players in the current set of circumstances we are witnessing in our country.

  5. Thank you, Margie.

    Like I think I said, I bounce back fast. Rust never sleeps, and neither does evil, evidently, although I do not believe — and you can quote me on this — that rust is necessarily evil.

    On the other hand, evil tends to rust.

    Sooner or later (hopefully sooner) they won’t be able to fool all the people all the time, or even a significant number. More and more, I’m convinced that their following is less and less.

  6. I’m juvenile? Ad hominem attacks make you mature do they? Don’t shoot the messenger. I’m only reporting what an FBI agent found; why don’t you vent your spleen at him. I found that report funny and engaged in a bit of banter here. Direct link if you’re interested:

    http://latimesblogs.latimes.com/washington/2009/06/politicians-and-serial-killers.html

  7. jpfife: really?

    “I found that report funny and engaged in a bit of banter here. ”

    Funny banter?

    You decided to insult all politicians AS A CLASS and now claim that merely because you quoted someone on his “funny” analysis, YOU were just the messenger.

    Come on. Your idea of “banter” is generally considered the height of boorishness in any civil society. Tell you what. Go back and substitute “Black” or “Jew” for “politician” and see what you sound like.

    But “juvenile” offends your delicate “bantering” sensibilities? Get real.