Daily Archives: 4 February 2013

I Feel Like A Number

To workers I’m just another drone 
To Ma Bell I’m just another phone 
I’m just another statistic on a sheet 
To teachers I’m just another child 
To IRS I’m just another file 
I’m just another consensus on the street …
~ Bob Seger

I have seen every Super Bowl ever played. I remember the empty stands at Super Bowl I in the Los Angeles Coliseum.  But this year’s Super Bowl made me feel more a serf than an American.

superbowl

Quietly, over the past three decades, American business has been part of a massive, silent takeover that has seen over half of American book publishing ownership move overseas, dozens of banks merged into a mere handful, the chocolate industry virtually taken over by Nestlé of Switzerland, and companies vanishing even as the labels remain the same.

Continue reading

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized